Hey there!

2 Jul

Welcome to my funemployment blog! I wanted to call it Loblaw Job Blog, but unfortunately that was  pretty much impossible to say out loud. Oh well. Anyway, here’s my deal: about four months ago I finished my coursework at an elite liberal arts college in the Midwest, moved home to Western Massachusetts, and started looking for a job. At first, this period of unemployment and searching for employment was actually pretty fun. Free from the stresses of school, I finally had time to do all the things I had wanted, and needed, to do. I looked for an apartment, I read books that weren’t even assigned to me, I started running again, I networked, and I applied for jobs that I was sure I would at least get an interview for. I read articles like this one about college graduates who couldn’t find jobs and assured myself that I was not like them and would not be like them.

I know it’s only been four  months, but it feels like a lot has changed. I’ve been networking and applying for jobs like crazy, and so far nothing has panned out. Most of the jobs I applied for never even responded. I’m starting to see how hard it actually is to get a job in this economy, even with all of the privileges I have (and believe me, I have a lot). My unemployment continues, but it doesn’t feel so fun anymore. Some days it is really disappointing and discouraging, but some days it feels like something just might come together.

I’d been thinking of creating a blog about my job search for a while, but had avoided it because I  thought that if I started a blog and then got a job, I would be just another person with a silly, unfinished blog. I have no immediate job prospects, so maybe this blog will turn fate in my favor and I will become another a silly person who quickly abandons their unemployment blog because they found a job (fingers crossed). I’m hoping to write about looking and applying for jobs, living the (f)unemployed life, and anything else that seems relevant. Friendly and encouraging advice/comments are more than welcome (as are legitimate job offers, but I won’t get my hopes up).

One Response to “Hey there!”

  1. Mr WordPress July 2, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

